jump to navigation

Boot OpenSolaris into Single User Mode June 12, 2008

Posted by mgerdts in opensolaris.
trackback

Update: I thought I had left this in a draft state – my main goal in writing it was to test WordPress and ScribeFire together. Unluckily ScribeFire wasn’t working too well for me. Luckily, The Observatory picked up where I left off.  Check it out for working screenshots.

I was looking through my google analytics stats and realized that I’ve had a ton of hits from people trying to figure out how to boot OpenSolaris into single-user mode. This post should do the trick for you if you are on x86.

As you are booting the system, you will see a menu that looks something like:

Use the ‘e’ key to edit the command-line, then the down arrow to get to the line highlighted.

Use the ‘e’ key to edit this line. Add ‘-s’ to the end, as shown below.

Hit the Enter key and you are taken back to this screen. Notice that the -s appears on the line you just edited.

Now just use ‘b’ to boot into single-user mode.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

